UP minister Dara Singh Chauhan resigns, second minister to quit post in 24 hours


Uttar Pradesh minister Dara Singh Chauhan resigned from the cabinet on Wednesday. He is the second Uttar Pradesh minister to quit the post ahead of the assembly polls. A total of six MLAs have now resigned in the state.

On Tuesday, Uttar Pradesh Labour Minister Swami Prasad Maurya resigned from the cabinet and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Four other MLAs in the state were said to have followed suit and quit the BJP.

Dara Singh Chauhan served as the Minister of Forest and Environment in the Yogi Adityanath government. He resigned from the post on Wednesday alleging the neglect of the backward classes and dalits by the government.

Dara Singh Chauhan’s resignation comes as Uttar Pradesh looks at the crucial assembly polls in February this year.

Just before the elections, the ruling BJP suffered a major setback with the resignation of cabinet minister Swami Prasad Maurya on Tuesday.

In the hours that followed, four more MLAs close to him, Roshan Lal Verma, Brijesh Prajapati, Bhagwati Sagar and Vinay Shakya announced their resignations.

Sources said Maurya did not have faith in the leadership of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and was angry about the working style.

Sources also told that Yogi Adityanath may contest assembly polls from either Ayodhya or Gorakhpur assembly constituency.

Meanwhile, Congress MLA Narensh Saini and Samajwadi Party (SP) MLA Hari Om Yadav, both from Uttar Pradesh, joined the BJP on Wednesday.

The Uttar Pradesh Assembly election 2022 will be held in seven phases. The polling will be held from February 10 and The counting of votes will take place on March 10.


Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here !


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)